top of page

How I Earned Money From Writing, Without Writing

I’ve been working as a author for a few years now and one factor that I’ve observed occurring a number of occasions is that I do not all the time know the place my revenue goes to return from. Sometimes I can write one thing and receives a commission as soon as, or write a e book and the royalties maintain coming from it for years, or typically, I write one thing and it could earn me cash in methods I by no means considered.

To present you what I imply, I’ll let you know a few collection of three articles I wrote which have gone on making me cash for properly over 10 years.

And that is the way it occurred:

Several years in the past I wrote to a writing journal and proposed a collection of three articles about the right way to earn cash pitching concepts for films, TV reveals and actuality TV reveals. The journal accepted and requested me to ship the articles.

At the time I used to be working as a contract author and I’d outlined the articles however hadn’t written them, which is not uncommon, as a result of, for non-fiction articles for magazines, they solely wish to see a brief pitch first, whereas, for fiction, they normally wish to see the entire story.

So as soon as I acquired the request I set about writing the articles which had been lower than 1,500 phrases every and the entire thing took me only one morning of writing, enhancing and proofreading. And then I submitted the articles.

The editor accepted them and supplied me 100 British Pounds ($200) for every article, payable on publication (the journal was revealed month-to-month) which I agreed to, understanding that I’d obtain three month-to-month funds which totaled $600.

The articles had been revealed as agreed and some months later I regarded the copies of them on my laptop and determined to republish them on-line. I added just a few PPC adverts to the net pages and some affiliate hyperlinks to acceptable merchandise about script writing and pitching to and left it at that.

Over the subsequent few years, these three articles started to get extra hits than the opposite pages on my web site. I additionally needed to replace them a few occasions as properly to ensure that the content material was nonetheless related and all of the hyperlinks labored, however doing so was solely a small job.

So whereas these articles sat on my web site the adverts and affiliate hyperlinks earned me fairly a bit of cash.

And then at some point, a publishing firm contacted me as a result of considered one of their authors wished to make use of a part of one of many articles in a e book they had been publishing and wished written permission.

So I offered them the permission for $300 which they accepted and paid.

And once I considered it, these three articles that solely took just a few hours to write down will need to have earned me properly over $1,000 since I wrote them.

Not dangerous for half a day’s work.

But that is the factor about being a author; if you wish to earn a good revenue, it’s important to maintain writing, submitting and publishing, since you by no means know the place the cash goes to return from subsequent – or how a lot.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page