top of page

How to use IF functions to speak to different audiences


In my last post for Search Engine Land about business data feeds, I went over how I used ad customizers to implement value-focused ad copy. I now want to show you another favorite ad customizer I think is underutilized. I am talking about IF functions.

IF functions are another way pay-per-click (PPC) marketers can create unique ads that are hard for the competition to replicate. I use business data feeds to call out extra benefits and value statements. With IF functions, I like to use the ad customizer to change my voice depending on what audiences I’m going after. Let me show you what IF functions are, how to set them up, and a few strategies I’m currently using on clients.

Where do we begin with IF Functions?

Start by creating a new expanded text ad in any one of your ad groups. The process for kicking off an ad customizer is the same across the board. Start your headline with an opening curly bracket or ‘ { .’

Select the “IF function” option, as seen in the image below, to get started.

Once we’re in the IF function portion of the ad creation, you’re going to see this view within Google Ads (formerly AdWords).

 

Want more info on Paid Search? Check out our comprehensive PPC Guide – Nine chapters covering everything from account setup to automation and bid adjustments!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page