top of page

The true value of technical SEOs

google-code-seo-algorithm9-ss-1920

Like many technical SEOs, I was outraged when I first read Clayburn Griffin’s post, “The True Value of Technical SEO,” a couple months ago.

Clayburn said things like “Technical SEO is really just SEO 101” and “Technical SEO will never set you apart.” As a technical SEO and co-creator of a technical SEO Slack group, along with Paul Shapiro, believe me when I say that I am amazed to find myself agreeing with him in many ways after revisiting the post.

Clayburn isn’t really wrong, in that technical SEO is just following best practices, though I don’t agree that every issue can be Googled. Technical SEOs are on the bleeding edge of making newer JavaScript frameworks search engine-friendly, and this is something you won’t find much, if any, documentation for. I’ve spent years doing technical SEO, and I still run into new issues all the time and learn things I didn’t know before.

The fact is, the web has become more complex and technical. The larger the company, the more that is usually wrong; sometimes, applying even simple best practices to these websites can create hundreds of thousands, or even millions in additional revenue.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page