top of page

The Challenge of Conservative Vs Liberal Nurses

Discussing politics within the office shouldn’t be all the time an excellent matter for dialog. We are warned by our moms (early on) that it isn’t well mannered to debate faith, funds or politics with our associates, neighbors or anybody else for that matter. They advised us it was particularly not acceptable to debate these “taboo” topics on the dinner desk, throughout social occasions, or heaven forbid…at church or on dates with the alternative intercourse. So when is it OK? Personally talking, it is in all probability a good suggestion to debate your political beliefs with a future mate.

It could (or could not) make a distinction… particularly in the event you’re on reverse sides of the fence. It may probably turn into as challenge for some folks. I’ve associates who proclaim they might by no means deal with a relationship with a major different who didn’t have the identical actual beliefs as they did… whether or not it was with faith, cash or for which mayoral candidate to vote for! Personally, I like a bit of “back and forth” so long as it would not turn into too heated, and actually…why ought to it? As far because the office goes, my mom by no means talked about it. She was a homemaker and possibly thought that is the place I’d spend my life as effectively. She was flawed. As a lot as I like my dwelling and my household, I additionally love my nursing profession. I would not be who I’m if it weren’t for my experiences within the nursing occupation. I’ve realized to look after sufferers from each stroll of life and to understand our variations. I’ve additionally had the pleasure of working with many nurses throughout my profession.

I have to admit, we’ve had as many various personalities, quirks and private beliefs as our sufferers. So why does it appear that the conservative beliefs versus the liberal beliefs within the nursing occupation appear to separate the 2 teams so broadly? My guess is that the nursing unions are extra liberal. Nurses usually belong to unions. Enough mentioned…however probably not. I’m a member of a nursing union though I take into account myself to be conservative due to my non secular beliefs. There are sure private legal guidelines that I maintain expensive to my coronary heart; legal guidelines that can’t be compromised ethically. I can respect and perceive that different nurses could really feel in a different way than I do. Some examples resulting in variations of opinion vary from aiding with termination of pregnancies all the best way to voting for a “public option” well being care plan. As I used to be working one night shift because the cost nurse on my hospital unit, I needed to intervene between two nurses engaged in an altercation.

The two have been loudly expressing differing viewpoints relating to a present political marketing campaign. Both have been carrying their favourite candidate’s buttons (opponents within the race) which was clearly inappropriate for a nursing unit. I requested them to take away their “walking advertisements” which then induced me to be the brunt of their anger for the remainder of the shift. By the subsequent day, the political winds had blown over as most of them finally do. Storms do not final. Recently within the State of Minnesota, nurses got here collectively to vote on a brand new contract citing the primary challenge to be “Safe Staffing for Patient Safety.” Over ninety % of the 12,000 RNs within the state voted for a one-day strike when hospitals failed to barter.

It was the most important nursing strike within the historical past of the US. Contract negotiations and one other vote to ratify the brand new contract finally averted an extended strike, however it was an ideal instance of nurses who, throughout each political strains, got here collectively for one thing all of them passionately believed in. At this time, they proceed to work collectively to guarantee affected person security. They are dedicated to the trigger. Nurses are superb, caring professionals if I do say so myself! We could have private beliefs that are opposite to at least one one other at occasions, however historical past has proven that regardless of these variations, we’ve many comparable targets in life. We all try for well being, happiness and security for ourselves, our households and our sufferers. Politics or no politics, nurses are nurses. Our moms could be proud!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page