top of page

How to follow up on link requests

annoying-screaming-followup-spam-ss-1920

I’m sure that your email inbox is full of unsolicited mail, much of it spammy follow-ups. Mine sure is!

I recently had the chance to test those pesky follow-up skills when my response rate on a recent campaign was zero percent. Since we do our targeting and research upfront, we usually get at least a few responses to any outreach we do, but nope! Not this time.

I knew I should follow up, but I took the very lazy approach of simply finding my sent emails and re-sending them. Naturally, I still got no responses.

This situation reminded me of a recent conversation I had with some SEOs on Twitter where I asked about how they felt when people tweeted to them as a follow-up. Around the same time, one of my link builders asked me, “How do I know when to stop following up?” All of this made me realize that there really is a lot to the art of the follow-up — so let’s dig in.

Note: Keep in mind that I’m writing about follow-up in this article, not initial outreach or contact.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page