top of page

How I use my marketing technology stack (SEO edition)

cloud-martech-ss-1920

Marketing technology (martech) stacks are all the buzz right now, especially following the Stackie awards given out at the MarTech Conference recently. There were some excellent visualizations of what technologies companies use and how they categorize them within different stages of their funnel.

To me, this is all very fascinating. I love checking out what other companies are using and discovering new tech solutions. But these visualizations are missing something: how do they specifically use it all?

We need some good how-to content around using martech stacks. Originally, I had wanted to outline some step-by-step use cases for my martech stack(s), but I realized that I could write a book on it. Instead, I’m going to focus on how I use my martech stack to manage my SEO efforts.

I look at SEO like a carousel:

  1. It’s constantly going round and round — continuous, unending efforts are needed to compete in new topics or keywords and to keep up with changes in the way search engines operate.

  2. There is a center pole that all of it revolves around. (Any guesses as to what that is? Yup, content!)

  3. Users or visitors arrive to your site through search engine results, and your goal is to keep them riding through the site. (Okay, maybe that is a stretch on the analogy, but I’m going with it.)

For the purpose of this guide, let’s get on the carousel at the “new keyword/topic targeting” part of SEO.

Like most, my goal is to ultimately rank high on page one for a given topic. Since I’m primarily in B2B marketing, let’s select something related to that, with which I’m intimately familiar. Let’s go after “marketing automation comparison” and related terms.

Here’s how I use my SEO-related marketing technology stack to make this happen….

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page