top of page

First Time Flying A Drone

I did it. I went out and purchased a distant management drone. The flying type.

I had some trepidation, as did my spouse, as a couple of years in the past I had gotten into flying mannequin plane and after a spectacular crash, obtained out once more, deeming it too costly and needing much more ability than I had. Would this time be any completely different or would it not be one other few hundred kilos down the drain?

I purchased an affordable drone – simply 12 inches throughout, with a digital camera that didn’t transmit a dwell image and so, for the princely sum of £60, I might be airborne once more.

The distant management regarded acquainted and appeared to do comparable issues to my outdated plane controller. The drone regarded fairly flimsy however wanted minimal meeting with the enclosed instruments to make it completely airworthy. The battery regarded minuscule however at 500mA was rated to maintain me within the air for five minutes at a time.

Battery charging is completed by way of a pc USB port (lead supplied) and takes about 2 hours. First lesson – if you wish to fly rather a lot, get extra batteries. They’re about £2 every on Amazon with a multi-port charger, so not too dangerous.

This will not be a passion for the impatient!

So absolutely charged up and AA batteries obtained for the distant management, I switched it on and as per the directions, put the throttle all the way in which forwards then all the way in which bake to tie the controller to the drone. The props began spinning, lights had been flashing then regular and it was able to go.

The very first thing that strikes you if you begin flying is how skitterish the factor is. There is a sequence to study in the case of flying a drone. Forwards and backwards appear easy sufficient however you even have left and proper slewing in addition to clockwise and anti-clockwise spot turns.

As beneficial in a video I discovered on YouTube, I spent the primary battery-load at low-level, attempting to maintain the altitude even and studying that the drone flies in relation to its personal ahead, not mine. If you see 2 pink lights, it is dealing with you and a pair of inexperienced lights it is dealing with away.

Keeping a good altitude proved fairly tough and I had a couple of heavy-ish landings however nothing that dented the drone or my pleasure. I did suppose although, that by the point my 5 minutes was up (all four lights go from regular to flashing to provide you adequate time to search out area to land) that I used to be starting to get the dangle of it.

I have to say right here that I’m fortunate sufficient to have entry to a big sufficient space that I can do my flying indoors. This will not be a front room flying machine and I perceive that something above a lightweight breeze could make outside flying fairly difficult.

I’m now going by way of my 2-hour anticipate the battery to cost (a 5 day anticipate the additional batteries to reach). But I’m all fired up and wanting to fly once more.

I now actually recognize the drone footage I’ve seen on TV. I realise that skilled high quality drones are rather a lot heavier, have GPS stabilisation and possibly many different mod-cons that make them simpler to fly. They nonetheless want a talented operator although and I will likely be practising exhausting so I can justify one thing a bit flashier for my subsequent acquisition.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page