top of page

And I’M Letting THEM Handle MY Money?

Life is filled with ironies. My financial institution is one in all them. The different day I went into my financial institution to search out out the process for depositing a three-party examine and I used to be directed to the department supervisor. I wasn’t requested to have a seat at her desk so I stood there ready for her to write down down the knowledge that I wanted. She took a bit of paper and I watched her as she labored over each letter that went on that web page. It took her a number of minutes to complete writing. I did not have the time to learn it so I thanked her for it and left.

When I received residence, I retrieved the piece of paper and my eyes felt like they had been coming out of my head. I anticipated to see some pithy directions, as an alternative, there have been solely two phrases on this 3″x5″ piece of paper; it stated Endorsement Guarantee. The letters had been so huge that I used to be curious to see how a lot they measured. I took out my tape measure and wasn’t stunned to see that every letter was a half-inch excessive and virtually a half-inch vast, and every phrase took up an entire line and people two phrases took up the entire web page.

How may two easy phrases, one having eleven letters and the opposite one having 9 letters, and each of them solely three syllables, take such a very long time to write down? They weren’t even significantly legible or fairly to have a look at.

Between the department supervisor’s lack of fine customer support expertise (permitting a buyer to face and never asking her to have a seat whereas she wrote down these two phrases) and her lack of ability to write down legibly and rapidly, I questioned how she may attain the place of department supervisor of a financial institution. Then, in a kind of timeless OH MY GAWD!! moments, I had the sudden disquieting thought, “And I’m letting HER deal with MY cash??

I do not know what the requirements are these days for an individual being given the place of department supervisor of a financial institution but when that is an instance of it, the banking business is in much more bother than we had been led to imagine. It makes me marvel if the folks from bygone days did not have the best thought of hiding their cash beneath their mattress. The various to being robbed by burglars invading your house or being robbed by the banking business or by employers dipping their fingers into pension funds appears too near name.

Probably the one actual distinction could also be that you’re bodily in danger when thieves break into your home whereas solely your cash is in danger when the banking business commits fraud or your employer steals the cash out of your pension fund.

One of probably the most irritating issues is making an attempt to get data from somebody who ought to know the reply to your query and being instructed that it is their coverage. I do not learn about you, however that is not a adequate reply for me. I wish to know why one thing cannot be completed, not that it might probably’t be completed as a result of it is their coverage. And that is how I ended up with the department supervisor of my financial institution.

I wished to know why the signature of the third social gathering, endorsing the examine, wasn’t sufficient to deposit the funds. After all, the financial institution accounts of all three signatories had been on the examine and the funds would not be launched for 5 days till the examine cleared. She did not even make a pretense of making an attempt to reply my query; she simply stated that it was their coverage and wrote these two phrases, Endorsement Guarantee, on that piece of paper and handed it to me.

The one that can devise a means of bypassing banks and mattresses for storing cash safely, with out authorities interference and with out worrying about turning into a goal for theft, will develop into one of many wealthiest folks on the planet. Where are the artistic entrepreneurs who began the dot-com business? Surely, one in all them can provide you with a workable answer to assist the typical particular person purchase cash and shield his or her wealth. It should not be that troublesome for some enterprising particular person with imaginative and prescient to perform. Let the seek for that artistic particular person start; it is by no means been extra wanted than now.

by Connie H. Deutsch

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page